History - Department of Physics,Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee

From a modest beginning in 1960, the Department has now grown into an active center of quality teaching and research. Our achievements in research have been well recognized by U.G.C. in selecting our department under Special Assistance Program in 1979 in the thrust areas of Solid State Physics (hereafter mentioned as Condensed Matter Physics), and Atomic and Molecular Collision Physics. The program was further extended in 1985, 1992 and 1999 respectively.

The Department organizes national and international conferences from time to time. The research activity in the Department is recognized by CSIR, AICTE, DST and ISRO etc. and a number of research projects funded by these agencies are always in progress in the department.

The faculty of Physics Department has been actively pursuing research in important areas like High-TC superconductivity, heavy fermions, transport in anisotropic fluids, magneto-optical properties of transition metal compounds, conducting polymers and device applications, smart electro ceramics and biomaterials, nano-physics, scattering of spin-polarized electrons with atoms and molecules, physics of super-deformed nuclei, Lightning, Auroral and airglow studies. The Department is presently running fourteen Research projects sponsored by various agencies like DST, ISRO, DAE, AICTE and CSIR.

The Department runs M.Sc., M.Tech. ( Solid State Electronic Materials), M.Tech (photonics) , B.Tech. (Engg. Physics), Integrated M.Sc., M.Sc. (JAM) courses and Ph.D. program in advanced topics of major branches of Physics. The Department has 140 Research Scholars.

# # # # # | # # #
Credits : Information Management Group, IIT Roorkee
Copyright © , All Rights Reserved, Institute Computer Centre, IIT Roorkee.